Stankonia (2LP)


Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

SKU: 730082607216 Category: Tag: Brand:


Stankonia is the fourth studio album by American hip hop duo OutKast. It was released on October 31, 2000, by La Face Records. The album was recorded in the duo’s recently purchased Atlanta recording facility Stankonia Studios, which allowed for fewer time and recording constraints, and featured production work from Earthtone III (a production team consisting of Outkast and Mr. DJ) and Organized Noise.

For the follow-up to their 1998 album Aquemini, the duo worked to create an expansive and experimental musical aesthetic, incorporating a diverse array of styles including funk, rave music, psychedelia, gospel, and rock within a Dirty South-oriented hip hop context.[1] During the recording sessions, André 3000 began moving beyond traditional rapping in favor of a more melodic vocal style, an approach to which Big Boi and several other producers were initially unaccustomed. Lyrically, the duo touched upon a wide range of subject matter, including sexuality, politics, misogyny, African-American culture, parenthood, and introspection. Stankonia featured appearances from a variety of local musicians discovered by the group while they were visiting clubs in the city of Atlanta, Georgia.

A1 Intro
A2 Gasoline Dreams
A3 So Fresh, So Clean
A4 Ms. Jackson
A5 Snappin’ & Trappin’
A6 D.F. (Interlude)
B1 Spaghetti Junction
B2 Kim & Cookie (Interlude)
B3 I’ll Call Before I Come
B4 B.O.B.
B5 Xplosion
B6 Good Hair (Interlude)
C1 We Luv Deez Hoez
C2 Humble Mumble
C3 Drinkin’ Again (Interlude)
C4 ?
C5 Red Velvet
C6 Cruisin’ In The ATL (Interlude)
D1 Gangsta Sh*t
D2 Toilet Tisha
D3 Slum Beautiful
D4 Pre-Nump (Interlude)
D5 Stankonia (Stanklove)